You Are In Charge

by bye2mrwrong

Lesson #20: When It Comes to Going after What You Love in Life, Don’t Take NO for an Answer

Lesson #21: Burn the Candles, Use the Nice Sheets, Wear the Fancy Lingerie. Don’t Save Anything for a Special Occasion. Today is Special Enough

Lesson #25: No One Else is in Charge of Your Happiness. You are the CEO of Your Joy

In three lessons Regina Brett, the author of this amazing book, has taught me that I am the master of my own happiness. It is up to me and me alone to make ME happy. It is my responsibility to create the life I desire, to pursue my dreams, to be happy.

Often we try to alter our internal state of unhappiness by looking toward the outside world for positive triggers to make us happy. But it’s not up to anyone else to make you happy.  Not your mother, your father, your spouse, your partner, your girlfriend, your boyfriend, your kids, your boss, your colleagues, your friends, your horoscope. It’s up to you and you alone.

One “NO” should not cause our dreams to shatter, our hearts to break, or our hopes to crush. We should never surrender our dreams to someone else’s no. There are many bumps in the road but they should not stop us. And they should not control our happiness. So yes I may sometimes go back into feeling stuck, or look to the future and feel fear, I may be sad and gloomy about the present. But it is my choice to either wallow in self-pity or simply stop and ask myself what will make me happy now. Happy or miserable; it takes the same amount of time.

So should I wait for something or someone to make me happy?  Or would I be wiser to make my own happiness now? I think we all know the answer to that one. Don’t wait to do something special later, in a future that may never come. Life is short. The only time that matters is NOW.

3 Comments to “You Are In Charge”

  1. I agree with all of the above points but being a man, I especiially agree with wearing the fancy lingerie. Men are visual creatures and they especially love this. You get the benefit of thinking of yourself as a sexual woman who is comfortable with her sexuality. After all Great Sex is not something that a woman lets a man do TO HER but something that she engages in WITH HIM. Your sex life is a baromerter or meausure of your total relationship.

    Here are a couple of suggestions that I give to women. All women are different and respond differently. Communicate what feels good to you to your man. For example, my ex wife only wanted her nipples very gently sucked and the next woman after her wanted them sucked really hard. I would not have known had she not told me. A man wants to please you but you have to let him know what feels good to you. Get rid of your inhibitions. You know what inhibitions are, they are BARRIERS to a great sex life. Your man won’t think that you are slutty, but a sexually sophisticated woman who knows what she wants and likes. Finally, when a man makes you climax, SCREAM. It is music to his ears and a compliment to his ego but you get the benefit of having a much stronger orgasm. Why do you think that women tennis players loudly grunt of scream when they hit the ball? They get 20% more power and your orgasms will be stronger.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John

  2. I agree! This post is great. Taking control of your own happiness is a great lesson. We all need others, but sometimes we really need to be a friend to ourselves. Sometimes others just aren’t there for us and if we always look to someone else to make us happy, we may spend a lot of time disappointed.

  3. This is what I’ve spent the last 10 months of Life Coaching learning. Finding out about me and what makes me happy. What holds me back and why and how to deal with those ‘stuck’ issues so I can overcome them and enjoy life, the moment of now and the future – which I’ll have planned and be in charge of.

    Well done you.

    Hugs
    C

Leave a Reply

