Lesson #10: God Never Gives Us More than We Were Designed to Carry

by bye2mrwrong

Some of us were designed to carry more, some less.
No matter what, even if we are asked to carry a portion of sky, it is beyond bearable. It is a gift.

I’m not sure I agree with this one. Is any one person designed to carry such burden and adversity as the loss of a child, or the birth of a malformed one,  to live with the aftermath of a perilous accident, or an incurable disease?

A friend once told me that she believes that those things that are the hardest for us to cope with are the things that will happen to us, so we can become stronger from them. This I somehow believe. Why, because all my life I was afraid of divorce. Divorce was something that unlike some disease (which I believed only happened at old age) or death (which I preferred not to think of at all) seemed tangible enough to happen, conceivable, real. Even the word brought chills down my spine. In my close-knit family no one divorced. It was unspoken of, a taboo, a big no-no. Whether NOT divorcing under any circumstance was right, I don’t know. All I know is that it just wasn’t done. And so it became my biggest fear.

Now that divorce is behind me and I’ve carried its heavy weight on my shoulders and in my heart; I have new fears. Fears of not finding anyone, fears of never having children, or of being barren; fears of death (mine and others) and the list goes on. Will I have to experience them all? Am I designed to carry more? I sure hope not. But I guess God will be the judge of that.

P.S. Yes I’ve skipped lesson #9.

Tags: , ,

4 Comments to “Lesson #10: God Never Gives Us More than We Were Designed to Carry”

  1. I read somewhere recently that we become what we think. I’ve tried really hard these last few years to think about today, this moment, and not to fear or dread what might be in the future. We don’t know what’s coming down the pike. All we know is that we have right now. I wish for you to enjoy now with your family, with old friends, with whatever gives you peace.

    • Thanks Pat. I am enjoying the moment(s). But being the person I am, I cant help but look far into the future. Plan it, and then play it over and over in my head perfectionizing it. Disappontment obviously comes when those expectations aren’t met. When I learn I am not in control of everything I thought I was or could be. I guess we all have some fear of the unknown. Mine just seems to be very strong. But it hasn’t overpowered me yet. I haven’t given up.

  2. I believe we are capable of carrying much much more than we think. We are in charge of our destiny, it’s in our power and our hands.

    Yes we have fears for the future but if we let that fear take hold then what we fear is what we’ll get as that becomes the overriding focus.

    Somehow we need to grab the fear and turn it round and ‘prove it wrong’ – perhaps in its truest form that’s what fear is there for. To inspire and guide us to get what we should truly have rather than settle for 2nd best.

    I don’t know. It’s just an idea!!

Leave a Reply

