The Idea of Love

by bye2mrwrong

It was on an unexpected day that I fell back in love. It came in the form of a handsome young man (a few years younger than me), with blond hair, full luscious lips, and the most beautiful and intense blue eyes. He made me feel alive once more. I don’t know if it was because he made me smile again, or because he paid me a few compliments and made me feel desirable, or just because he called and was intent on taking me out. But the moment his lips kissed mine I could not help but fall deeply in love. I felt those butterflies in my stomach again. The ones I have so longed for. I suddenly felt a flame within my soul lighting up again, a desire within my body to live, to love.

I know now that it wasn’t him who I fell in love with. We were never meant to be together (at least not for long). It was the idea of love that consumed me; the thought of not being alone anymore, of having someone to hold who would hold me back, of having someone to go out with, to laugh with, to talk to.

But sometimes an idea is bound to stay just that. And as fast as the idea came, it disappeared. And I was left once again with a distant memory of love. But after everything I’ve gone through, I have no regrets of this quick love that has come and gone. I am happy that I was I mean I am able to fall in love again. Maybe it wasn’t even love. Maybe it was lust. Or as everyone has termed it “the rebound”. But whatever it was it was good while it lasted. It made me feel alive and happy.  And it made me realize that I can trust again. I can be vulnerable, I can take risks and above all I can still feel.

3 Responses to “The Idea of Love”

  1. How lovely. I’m so glad it helped – even if it didn’t last.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

