Chronicles of the Monsters In-Law

by bye2mrwrong

It has crossed my mind more than once how ignorant and oblivious I must have been, but ignorance is bliss. And when I met my husband at 21 I worshiped the ground he walked on and idealized him as if he were a gold mine I had just struck. I treated him no differently than I would a king. He could do no wrong in my eyes. He was the smartest, the cutest, the funniest, the best.

But when you marry someone, you also marry that person’s family. They come with the package. And blindly I accepted that package. I guess I am guilty by association of being no better. But I should have known better. I should have known we were statistically doomed and that the odds stacked up against us from the beginning. After all a person’s family and the way the person was raised shapes their belief system and who they become as an adult.

2 Comments to “Chronicles of the Monsters In-Law”

  1. This right here is the missing link between me and my idiotic husband. I have never met his parents. I have met his brother and he is weird. I have talked to one of his 2 sisters and the one I talked to threatened to *whup* my ass as she put it because I didn’t want her to give out OUR phone number to other girls. Which she was doing when we first got together 10 years ago. I told her…”I don’t know if you realize this or not, but airlines no longer accept chickens and pigs in exchange for a flight ticket.” She’s a hillbilly so I had to think of something she’d understand.
    I’ve never spoken to her again.

  2. My soon-to-be-ex’s family are all the same. Diffident and insecure. Weak in many ways. Prone to running rather than dealing with a problem and incapable of voicing or expressing their inner feelings. Like you I should have realised we were doomed from the start. As my life coach said to me the other day – next time you meet someone you feel you would like to share your life with find out first if he had a dominant mother – if the answer is yes – then run and don’t look back. But I wouldn’t have missed the 17 happy years I had – I just wish we could have found a way to have found more.

    I wish you happiness and peace and hope we all find that which will give us release from the past and wonderful, wonderful futures.

    Hugs
    Caroline

Leave a Reply

