Wishing for a Miracle…

by bye2mrwrong

December has come upon us and with it so has the winter. Just like on my blog its snowing outside which means that it’s frrrreeeeeezing….

I love this time of year with its romantic festive season atmosphere. Winter sales are coming up, which means more shopping and more fun! Christmas markets whisk us to that enchanting winter magic as we walk around drinking hot  Glühwein. The radio is already starting to play cheerful Christmas songs. And it’s always so beautiful outside, roads covered with snow, making everything look so pure and clean. The fairy lights and decorations fill the streets outside, while fires are burning inside.

But this year, I feel the urge to complain! Not necessarily because its cold, and I look like a big bear all bundled up in my 4 layers of cloth and big coat every time I have to go out. And also not because yesterday I slipped and fell on the ice (I’m used to being clumsy now and then).

As the winter cold creeps into my bones, the cold reality hits me… out of 31 years, this year has been my worst year ever, and I am SO ready to move on to the next one. It seems only fair that 2011 will bring with it a better fortune. I feel that I deserve to get something good coming my way, after this long, depressing, lonely and turbulent year. (Here’s to hoping!)

The season holidays are upon us, and they seem to be making me even more sentimental, nostalgic and lonelier then ever. Today is the second day of Hanukkah the Jewish Holiday. This is a festival of lights in the season of darkness. It is about courage and hope in the toughest of times. A celebration of miracles, and I seem to be dreaming for a miracle to happen to me.

Christmas is coming up, and this of all holidays is the time to be with the one you love, with your family and friends. And I’m starting to wonder if I’ll be spending this Christmas home alone?

And then there’s the New Year, which has always been a time for looking back to the past, and more importantly, forward to the coming year. It’s a time to reflect on the changes we want (or need) to make.

So to everyone who’s feeling a little bit lonely and cold (like me); I want to wish you all the best for this season.  And here’s a little recipe for Glühwein that may warm up your heart:

· 1 bottle of dry red wine
· 3/4cup water
· 3/4 cup of sugar
· 2 cinnamon sticks
· 5-10 whole cloves
· 1 orange (squeeze juice and add peel)
· 1 shot Amaretto (recommended!)

Pour the wine into a large pot, add all spices and begin heating over low heat. Heat thoroughly, but do not allow to boil! Steep for about 10 minutes over low heat. Add more sugar or spices, if desired, stirring well so it dissolves.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE HE <!–[if gte mso 10]>

· 1 bottle of dry red wine
· 3/4cupwater (or orange juice)
· 3/4 cup of sugar
· 2 cinnamon sticks
· 5-10 whole cloves
· 1 orange (squeeze juice and add peel)
· 1 shot amaretto (recommended!)

Pour the wine into a large pot, add all spices and begin heating over low heat. Heat thoroughly, but do not allow to boil! Steep for about 10 minutes over low heat. Add more sugar or spices, if desired, stirring well so it dissolves.

2 Comments to “Wishing for a Miracle…”

  1. I wish I’d found this post last year when I was struggling… ha ha. I could have used that drink recipe 😉

Leave a Reply

